Home

Img_4915-1200px

It was at-home movie night. I felt like foregoing my usual kettle corn for something savory. I rummaged around in the pantry, then the spice cabinet. I espied the blue and yellow tin of Old Bay seasoning (beloved spice blend of Maryland, my home state; if you’re not familiar with it, it’s spicy, salty, with a good dose of celery seed).

Old Bay popcorn. OK. Either I was freaking brilliant, or I was getting desperate. I Googled “old bay popcorn”. At least I wasn’t alone—others had gone down this path before, and deemed it worthy enough to write about on the web. I proceeded with my crazy plan, and the results were delicious. Instinct told me that the combination needed a bit of melted butter, which I added the next movie night. Yes! More brilliance! Take part in the brilliance in your own home:

(I use the Orville Redenbacher instructions for stovetop popping as the foundation to the recipe.)

  • 1/2 cup popcorn kernels
  • 3 Tb vegetable oil
  • 2 Tb unsalted butter
  • 2 to 2.5 tsp Old Bay seasoning
  • …and a 4-qt heavy-bottom pan with lid
  1. Measure corn and oil into the pan.
  2. Cover and turn heat to medium. Leave pan lid slightly ajar to allow steam to escape.
  3. While corn and oil heat, melt the unsalted butter.
  4. When popping slows, remove pan from heat, and pour out the popped corn into a large serving bowl.
  5. Drizzle the melted butter over the popped corn, tossing to distribute.
  6. Sprinkle the Old Bay seasoning over the popcorn, tossing to distribute.
  7. Yum.

You can add more butter if you like—I go pretty light with it. Delicious either way.

Leave a Reply

